The Third Side Of The Coin

You might have noticed that people say there are always two sides to a story. If you have ever been in an argument which really doesn’t involve you but you have to be there anyway then then you might have noticed how honest that statement is. Is it really though? Did you ever ponder over the fact that why do people relate this to two sides of a coin(which I came across in many occasions)? Well, I have and in multiple occasions.

For instance, today when two of my friends were having a heated discussion(over a game of DoTA) I had to take one’s side(you cannot be Switzerland all the time, you know). So basically without all the facts at my disposal it was hard to side with anyone. I told them “There are two sides to the story always. Both of you tell me your version of the story, one at a time”. But, while I articulated the phrase, somewhere in the back of my psyche it just didn’t feel right. Both of them described their adaptation of the story and at the time I had to side with one. After a couple of hour, I returned home, only to get stuck with the thought of it.

Have you ever had one of those days, where no matter how hard you try you just cannot take something off of you mind? I guess today was “that” kind of day for me. Believe me, you cannot make this stuff up or maybe you can-I don’t know. Anyhow, it got me thinking about how the great unwashed associate the coin the same way as any argument with multiple persons. Then next thing I remember is bringing out a penny from my jeans and flipping it over and over again.

After a few flips, I recognized the slender third side of it, which seemed to hold the other two sides together(my interpretation of the coin). At that very moment, I understood something. We don’t really pick a side in an argument. We hear both the person(on any number of persons) and then we formulate our own version of the story, which becomes like a mixture of spices, a little from this and a little from that. What I am saying is think it through, it might make sense to you or it might not, I can’t possibly know that. But does a story(or a coin) have only two sides? When we are to take sides, like it or not we ARE the glue that holds them together. Without the third person, it’ll just be a meaningless battle of words(or fists which follows sometime) because in both of their minds they are egoistically correct(which happens in most arguments).

Anyway, it might just be me and it is only applicable when the third party takes a side.

Leave a Reply

